La'ie Walking Tour: Islands of Hawai'i

Islands of Hawai'i
  Return to Beginning of tour
  See the big list of all La'ie Walking Tour slides
  Map of Laie
Join a Tour Group:  START Auto Advance
159  Next:  Islands of Hawai'i presentation
157  Back:  Path to Islands of Hawai'i

"Aloha" is the greeting word of Hawai'i, which you probably already knew. There are more than 20 islands in the Hawaiian group, but only seven are inhabited. Eight are volcanic islands while the others are small coral islands. For a short history, the first Hawaiians migrated from the Marquesses islands about 30-40 generations ago settling on Kauai and Oahu. A later migration (exact date is not known) took place from Tahiti to Hawai'i and Maui. After an initial discovery by Spaniard Gaetano, Captain James Cook rediscovered the Hawaiian Islands in 1778 and named them the Sandwich Islands. In 1796 King Kamehameha I united the islands into an independent kingdom. This period of royal rule lasted until 1898 when it was taken over by the United States. In 1959 the Hawai'i islands was named the Aloha State becoming the fiftieth state. Since then Hawai'i's economy has evolved from sugarcane and pineapple crops to tourism which has become the largest source of revenue.

For more information on the Polynesian Cultural Center or to make reservations visit their website at

Take Control: Where would you like to go next?
163  Go to:  Waterfall
168  Go to:  House of learning
119  Back to:  Front entrance
© 2001, Michael Sarafian